Media Release: 2016 John Monash Scholarships Announced

Announcement of the 2016 John Monash Scholars

Image: Woodside Energy John Monash Scholars Anirudh Mukkavilli (left) and Arjuna Dibley (right) with Woodside Energy Vice President of People & Capability, David McLoughlin (centre)



This evening, the General Sir John Monash Foundation will announce the recipients of the 2016 John Monash Scholars at a special event at the Sydney Opera House. The Scholarships will be announced in the company of His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d) Governor of New South Wales, The Honourable Michael Baird MP, Premier of New South Wales, Australian philanthropists, distinguished business men and women.

The John Monash Scholarships are amongst the most important postgraduate scholarships currently available in Australia and are awarded to outstanding Australians with leadership potential who wish to pursue postgraduate study at prestigious universities overseas. Since the first scholarships were awarded in 2004, a total of 127 scholarships have been awarded.

Chairman of the General Sir John Monash Foundation, Ms Jillian Segal AM, affirms that the demand for Scholarships is increasing year on year. “The number of scholarships being awarded for 2016 has exceeded all past years. The 17 Scholars selected represent just 5% of the total pool of applications received.”

The 2016 John Monash Scholars represent five States and the ACT, have studied at 10 different Australian universities, will pursue studies in fields including music, engineering, health policy, finance and history, and will enrol in 12 different overseas universities.

Premier Mike Baird has been a strong advocate of the John Monash Scholarships. “It is vital we identify and nurture the next generation of leaders and I praise the General Sir John Monash Foundation for awarding these prestigious scholarships to individuals with leadership potential who have excelled in their chosen field.” Mr Baird said.

Premier Baird will present the inaugural Roden Cutler NSW John Monash Scholarship, a scholarship supported by the NSW Government to be awarded every year in perpetuity to a resident of NSW.

Amongst the 17 Scholars Selected are:

  • Harrison Steel: An outstanding scientist with interests that range from sport to rocketry, Harrison has worked for NASA and has presented his work at conferences and on radio.  Harrison’s intention is to study synthetic biology; an emerging area of research which combines computer science, medical research and biology, and which will be a strong contributor to an innovation economy.
  • Abigael Mawby: Passionate about human rights, Abigael has worked as an Associate in the European Court of Human Rights, and has volunteered both at home as a Migration Support Officer for the Red Cross and internationally for the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. Abigael will pursue a Masters of Law in the area of anti-corruption strategies and international law with a goal of improving the international framework for anti-money laundering, anti-bribery and preventing of terrorism financing.
  • Michael Grebla: A distinguished composer and performer. Michael has founded and continues to run a comprehensive music program with a focus on engaging the local community. Michael will pursue a Masters of Music in Composition, and hopes to make a significant contribution to establishing Australia as a cultural centre for the region.
  • Giles Dunseath-Hamilton: An Engineer with First Class Honours, accomplished sportsman and musician, Giles has served as a Captain in the Australian Army Reserve and has been recognised with a Division Level Commendation for leadership and service. He intends to undertake postgraduate studies in energy economics and environmental policy and hopes to lead change in Australia through a better understanding of commercial relations with the energy sector, and to drive responsible export of our energy resources.

2016 John Monash Scholars Citations and Photos available.

Vision of the Announcement (formalities and party) will be available from midnight onwards. If you would like access to the footage please email after midnight.

Media requests and interviews should be directed to Hailey Berkhout.

Hailey Berkhout

Office Manager, General Sir John Monash Foundation

0413 235 153 /